Home Contact Us
Home > Events & Activities > Completed Events > AGM 2013
The Annual General Body meeting along with half day workshop on ‘Innovations in Geotechnical Investigations’ was held on 24th September 2013 at Central Road Research Institute, New Delhi. The Program was inaugurated by Chief Guest Dr S.Gangopadhyay, Director CRRI.

After the inaugural address, the following eminent persons were awarded by the chief guest for the year 2011-12.
  • Dr.V.M.Sharma, Director (AIMIL (I) Ltd), Former Director CSMRS was awarded with "IGS Delhi Chapter Life time achievement Award"
  • Sh.P.J.Rao (Director Grade Scientist, CRRI) was awarded with "IGS Delhi Chapter Life time achievement Award"
  • Sh.D.N.Naresh, Additional General Manager, NTPC was awarded with "IGS Delhi Chapter Leadership Award".
The award function was followed by a half day workshop on "Innovations in Geotechnical Investigations".
Four presentations will be made by following eminent speakers :
  • High embankments on soft ground- Some recent case histories by Sh. P.J. Rao
  • Geotechnical problems of infrastructure development in India by Dr.V.M.Sharma.
  • Geotechnical challenges in power plants by Dr. D.N.Naresh.
  • Uttarakhand Deluge 2013: Reconstructions with Geo-professionals and perspectives –Prof.Chandan Ghosh
Chairman, IGS Delhi Chapter Shri Jai Bhagwan welcomed the members to the meeting and the agenda items were taken for discussion after brief opening remarks about the activities of the Chapter. Dr Vasant G Havangi, Honorary Secretary, IGS Delhi Chapter presented the activity report since last AGM held on 27th Sept 2012. In his presentation, Dr Vasant highlighted the activities like IGS - Ferroco Terzaghi Oration held on 5th Oct 2012 at IIT Delhi, IGC-2012 14-16 Dec 2012, Indo- Korean workshop, Indo-Japanese workshop, invited lectures, IGS Delhi Chapter Awards, etc. Members appreciated the efforts made by the Executive Committee and the Activity Report.

Er Sorabh Gupta, Honorary Treasurer, IGS Delhi Chapter presented the report regarding the income and expenditures made by the Chapter since last AGM. He also highlighted the expenditures made on IGS-Ferroco Terzaghi Oration, accounts of the IGC and workshops, invited lectures etc. AGM lauded the report with applauses and adopted the report of Honorary Treasurer.

In the end, Chairman Shri Jai Bhagwan thanked the members for their active support during last two year tenure of the Executive Committee. He mentioned that the elections for New EC will be held immediately after the AGM and requested the members to come forward to participate in election and take the activities of the chapter to the new heights. He also mentioned about updating the membership directory and to publish the same annually/biannually on the lines of the main Body.

Meeting concluded with a formal vote of thanks by the Honorary Secretary Dr Vasant G Havangi.

Elections for the year 2013-2015.
Since the tenure of old executive committee expired on 31st Spetember 2013, so it was decided to hold elections for new excecutive committee for the year 2013-2015.

Election was held for chaiman, Vice chairman, and four members for the new committee of the chapter for the year 2013-15. Dr Kishor Kumar, Chief Scientist,CRRI was the returning officer.

Following the list of selected members :
  • Dr. A.Nanda, EIL -Chairman (Proposed by Sh.Jai Bhagwam seconded by Sh.Ravisundaram)
  • Dr. J.T.Sahu,IIT-Vice-Chairman (Proposed by Dr Ayothiram seconded by Dr Vasant G Havanagi)
  • Dr. Vasant G Havanagi,CRRI- Vice-Chairman (Proposed by Sh.R.K.Swami, secd. by M/s Uma Arun)
  • Sh. A.K. Sinha,CRRI -Member (Proposed by Sh.P.S.Prasad, seconded by Dr Vasant G Havanagi)
  • Dr. Ayothiraman, IIT – member (Proposed by Dt Altaf Usmani seconded by Sh.Jai Bhagwan)
  • Dr. Rakesh Kumar - member (Proposed by Dr Rajpal Singh seconded by Sh Sh Jai Bgagwan)
  • Sh.Sorabh Gupta, CENGRS-member – (Proposed by Dr Vasant G Havanagi, seconded by Sh Ravisundaram)

The meeting concluded with thanks to returning officer for conducting the election and with a welcome to newly elected members of the committee for the year 2013-15.

Quick Links
eXpert Solution by : North South Technologies Pvt. Ltd.