Home Contact Us
Home > About Us
The history of Indian Geotechnical Society, traces itself to the conference of GEOCON India organized by IIT Delhi held during December 20–22,1978. This was the first conference in the geotechnical field inaugurated by the then Hon’ble Prime Minister of India, Shri Morarji Desai. Twelve organizations which cosponsored the event were AIMIL, CWC, EIL, IIT, HEICO, MOST, UNITECH, IE, IRC, RAILWAYS, NAGADI and SIMPLEX. Thereafter, from the savings (approximate Rs. 15,000/-) of the conference, it was decided to open a local chapter of Indian Geotechnical Society in Delhi itself. Main objective of opening a local Chapter was to provide a forum to the engineers, scientists, industrialists and others who are actively associated with the geotechnical works to come together to interact and thus to collect, synthesize and collate valuable information on geotechnical engineering. Amongst leading initiators of this were Prof. Shashi S. Gulhati, Sh. P.J. Rao of CRRI, Sh. B.K. Roy of MOST, Dr. V.M. Sharma of CSMRS, and Dr. R.Kaniraj of IIT Delhi. According to records, following office bearers were elected as the members of first Indian Geotechnical Society and the same came into being in 1980.

Approved constitution of IGS Delhi chapter is also enclosed along with latest directory of members in this souvenir itself.

Chairman -
     Mr. R.K. Jain, Director (Vigilance) Railway Board
Vice Chairman -
     (i) Dr. V.V.S. Rao, Managing Director, Nagadi Consultants
     (ii) Mr. N. Sen, Retd. Chief Engineer, M/o Shipping and Transport
Hon. Secretary cum Treasurer -
     Dr. A.Varadarajan, Civil Engineering Dept., IIT, Delhi.

Other leading figures who were the members of first executive committee were as follows :
Dr. S.L. Aggrawal, Project coordinator EIL, Member
Dr. R. Bhaskaran, Deputy Secretary, UPSC, Member
Mr. J.D. Cruz, Hon. Secretary, Institution of Engineers, Member
Dr. S.K. Gulhati, Prof. IIT, Delhi, Member
Mr. K.K. Gupta, Lecturer, IIT, Delhi, Member
Mr. S.N. Guru Rau, Director, CWC, Member
Dr. R. Kaniraj, Asst. Prof. IIT, Delhi, Member
Mr. K. Madhavan, G.M, NHPC, Member
Mr. T.K. Natarajan, Deputy Director, CRRI, Member
Dr. C.G.P. Narayan, Lecturer, IIT, Delhi, Member
Dr. T. Ramamurthy, Prof. IIT, Delhi, Member
Dr. G.V. Rao, Asst. Prof. IIT, Delhi, Member
Mr. Resham Singh, Chief Executive HEICO, Member
Mr. H.C. Verma, Managing Director, AIMIL, Member
Dr. V.M. Sharma, Hon. Secretary, IGS

Initially, the membership fee was kept Rs. 3/= for IGS members. In the year 1984 there were 101 life members and now, the strength has gone upto 800 plus. In the initial stages, special annual lectures on different topics in the field of geotechnical engineering was a regular feature. Many renowned speakers from academic/research institutions and field engineers from different organizations delivered lectures. Thereafter, the chapter started organizing seminars and symposiums quite often. The emphasis in these seminars was to encourage practicing engineers to participate and gain experience from each other. Annual Indian Geotechnical Conference was held in Delhi in the year 1986 after the chapter’s formation. A workshop on “Geotechnical Problems in Rehabilitation” was held in September 1992 in Hyatt Regency Hotel, New Delhi. In the same year printed directory of members was also published. IGS Delhi Chapter was also awarded IGC AIMIL award for best local chapter for the year 1994. 13th International Conference of Soil Mechanics and Foundation Engineering was organized by IGS Delhi Chapter. It also raised funds for the Golden Jubilee celebration of the main IGS held in 1998. In the year 2004, major conference titled “Geosynthetics India” was held. Recently, a workshop on “Ground Improvement Techniques” was organized in association with Central Soil and Materials Research Station during 6th to 8th September 2006. The chapter also strives to maintain close contact with the students. They are encouraged to attend the seminars and are given concession in the registration fees for them.

Quick Links
eXpert Solution by : North South Technologies Pvt. Ltd.